MediArray

Reviews and articles on movies, music, video games, and more

Break of Reality – “Spectrum of the Sky” Album Review

Break of Reality album cover

By chance I happened to be listening to Pandora radio the other day (as much as I enjoy Pandora, I don’t often use it due to my vast music library) – and by chance, a song happened to come on that took me by surprise and didn’t let go. It was the title track of Break of Reality’s 2009 album, Spectrum of the Sky. It impressed me so much that I went home and purchased the album – I was not in the least bit disappointed.

Break of Reality are a four-piece cello group whose music I would describe as a mix of post-metal, classical, and progressive rock (they are often labeled as “cinematic rock”). To hear the style of music normally reserved for distorted guitars and heavy bass played on cello, with some tracks featuring drums, is completely refreshing. The group is extremely talented in terms of both writing and playing ability, something that allows them to really transform their style of music into a wholly unique sound.

Looking at the album, there are a few standout tracks, though every song deserves its playing time. The first is “The Accidental Death of Effie” (which you can listen to below). This track shifts between multiple completely different song sections, with layered rhythm patterns and some very nice melody lines. After the song had evolved into new parts multiple times, I looked at the time and realized I was less than two minutes into the four and a half-minute song. The constant shifting and progressive nature of the track make this one my personal favorite. Another one worth mentioning is “Che” – another heavy sounding, progressive track that deserves its own mention for an intense cello solo section. Lastly, the concluding track of the album, “Anodynia: IV”, has a really cool breakdown that sounds so unique being played on cellos. Honestly, the only negative I can think of regarding the above tracks and the others on the album is that since the whole of the music is played on cello, there is some lack of fullness at part – though the intricate structuring and wonderfully somber/haunting melodies more than make up for it.

Overall, I highly recommend Spectrum of the Sky to any fan of metal and classical music. Even more, I would recommend it to post-rock fans, as well, due to some nice structuring and progressions. Truly, I have not heard anything quite like Break of Reality, whose sound must be heard to understand. The group is incredibly talented, and I look forward to hearing more from them in the future.

Final Score: 8.0/10

Check out a live performance of “The Accidental Death of Effie” below:

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

