MediArray

Reviews and articles on movies, music, video games, and more

“Hope Springs” (2012) Guest Movie Review

Hope Springs poster

By: Jamie

Hello all, the time has come again for me to put in my two cents on a recent film. To be honest, I had high hopes for “Hope Springs” with wonderful actors like Meryl Streep and Tommy Lee Jones playing the leads. How can this be bad, I asked myself. Well, let’s just say that it was not what I was expecting – it was more like “Hope Sinks.”

Classified as a drama and romantic comedy, I was expecting a lot of laughs and some wonderful heartwarming “Awww” moments, especially with Steve Carell as their relationship therapist. However, what I got were some very awkward scenes that not only made the actors cringe, but the audience as well. There were some laughs, but they were so few and far between that many times I forgot they even occurred.

Don’t get me wrong, there were some beautiful moments when Arnold would realize how much he loved Kay and wanted to make things right. The ending was especially emotional and heartwarming and it has some great life lessons for a happy marriage or relationship sprinkled throughout, but I would have rather learned those lessons on an episode of Oprah or Katie instead of 100 minutes of awkward scenes talking about or displaying various sexual scenes and desires.

The scene above is just one example of a scene that both of the actors seem uncomfortable with, and makes the audience feel the same way.

The scene above is just one example of a scene that both of the actors seem uncomfortable with, and makes the audience feel the same way.

Overall, it was a cute movie that gave you some things to think about for your relationship or marriage. However, the lack of real emotion and chemistry between the actors, the awkward or overdone scenes, and the lack of a decent soundtrack and story line all made the movie just “ehh”.

My opinion may be somewhat biased as it took me almost 2 hours to get through the movie due to technical difficulties since I rented it from Redbox (beware of scratched/skipping disks when renting, I’m 3 for 3 this past month). This made me aggravated and annoyed, making the movie feel longer than it really was and me wanting it to end as soon as I started experiences problems. Other than that, I still think it was a miss, when it comes to a romantic comedy and a disappointment compared to all the hype surrounding the movie. I still love Meryl Streep, Tommy Lee Jones and Steve Carell, but this was nowhere near any of their best work. Feeling adventurous or bored, watch it for yourself and let me know if you agree in the comments!

Final Score: 5.0/10

Single Post Navigation

One thought on ““Hope Springs” (2012) Guest Movie Review

  1. A surprisingly very heartfelt rom-com that may go for the same conventions, but makes up for it with great points about relationships and great performances from Jones and Streep. Carrell feels a bit wasted here, but I guess he wasn’t causing any harm to the final product. Nice review Jamie.

Leave a Reply

